Topic Options
#6376 - 06/05/10 02:29 PM Some info about the presets-please?
rikki rivett Offline

Loc: germany
My first impressions of Xenon are really good. But I'm not a mastering pro and I would appreciate some explanation and a little more detail of what the presets do/are designed for. I assume the (recon) in a preset nane could mean recondition, for instance.

Would this be possible please? I know your time must be very precious but a little more info about the presets would really help beginners to understand this great plug in.

thanks

RR

#6381 - 06/08/10 03:08 PM Re: Some info about the presets-please? [Re: rikki rivett]
Hubert Pietrzykowski PSP Offline

Loc: Warsaw
Hi,

I'm happy you like Xenon. I will try to explain the presets a little bit, but you must be aware that we included them only to show the plug-in's flexibility and to present its various possibilities. You hardly ever should use the presets as they are - you definitely need to adjust:
1. input - it controls the amount of limiting. The desired amount depends not only on your preferences and the standards of the music genre you master, but also on the amount of compression applied during mixing
2. release - you need to tweak this one to find the sweet spot between loudness and pumping/distortion
3. bit depth (if using Xenon dithering) - to match your destination media resolution.

It is essential to set above parameters every time you process new audio, so please learn to listen to the way they affect the sound.

Now a few words about presets:

- the 'limiter' presets (the first four) are aimed at (guess what? ;\) limiting. They allow you to reduce the peak/average ratio (called crest factor) and raise the loudness of the mix to some extent by 'clamping' the transient peaks. Those peaks usually last for very short time and don't contribute to overall loudness. By limiting them you get some place (headroom) which allows you to increase the level of your entire recording